My new teaching position: Xiwai International School in Songjiang District

Xiwai_bannerHello Zombies,

I hope your summer is going well.  Its been a while since I have posted anything.  Why? I haven’t done anything interesting these past few months.  Except for a brief trip to Hangzhou (which I will make a post about soon), I have done little else besides work and search for my next job.  My time at Disney English has come to an end.  It is with bittersweet memories that I say ‘Zai Jian’…I will remember only the good times I am sure, because there were more of those than bad times.  I have also made some really good friends who I will miss seeing daily!  

Good things I will remember: 1.) I love singing all the time in the classroom – that never gets old.  2.) Cute, no, REALLY cute Chinese children.  They are adorable.  3.) Disney content is awesome!  The technology is top-notch.  4.) Amazing and talented staff who put in extra effort to make the “show” go on and off without a hitch.

Things I won’t miss: 1.) the grueling 12 hours Saturday schedule.  2.) the constant “performance” aspect of this job.  I am an educator not a performer.  I often say – “time for the clown show” as we are getting ready to go “on stage”.  3.) Working EVERY weekend.  4.) No summer break. 5.) the “edu-tainment” factor and constantly “entertaining” children so that they can speak a simple English sentence is exhausting!  To say the least!

Now for the exciting and good news….I have found my next adventure.  I will be teaching middle school (6th, 7th & 8th Grade) Social Studies and computer classes at Xiwai International School!

xiwai.1 It is actually my dream and desire to teach that subject matter to that age group.  I couldn’t ask for more really, except if this whole opportunity was in Austin, Texas and not Songjiang, China.  So what do I have to complain about?  Come on!  You know me…I’ll find something.  LOL!  Its far from where I live, that is my only worry at the moment.  Its in another town called Songjiang which is many kilometers from Shanghai.  It will take me 1.5 hours each way.  Maybe I can grade papers on the train??  

Here’s the website:  http://www.xw.sjedu.cn/

Songjiang.8

5 thoughts on “My new teaching position: Xiwai International School in Songjiang District

  1. Hello,
    I found your blog when I looked up reviews for Xiwai. I think you took over the position I had two years ago (I taught social studies, reading, vocab and grammar) to 6th and 7th. I hope you are having a better time than I did, I have included a link to a review I just wrote.
    Good luck!

  2. How exciting!!! Another year in China? Will you be able to come home for a visit in-between or meet somewhere to see Gabi and Dani? I’m really happy to hear about the older age group and the subject matter because I know it was exactly what you were looking for if even in China, so congratulations and good fortune to you!!!

    xoxo’s
    Sarah Jane

    • Hey Sarah – you are alive! I have been trying to get a hold of you for many months. Can we Skype sometime? Or even if we don’t Skype then how about a phone call? Email me.

Leave a Reply

